Posted by: caffeevino | September 14, 2008

A Weekend Wedding

My older sister got married this weekend. It was quite an event despite the fact that it was very untraditional and simple.

The party got started on Thursday night with a pic-nic at her husband’s aunts house in San Antonio. I was really excited about this because I finally got to see my “uncle” Don (really my mom’s cousin) who is probably one of my favorite family members. He is a fantastic man who plays the piano beautifully! Growing up I loved going to the summer classical music recitals at the Round Top Music Festival. He also helped propell me into my love of piano and taught me how to play. Sadly he has Alzheimers but he’s still clear on most things, but tends to ask the same question multiple times. He is also able to joke around about his situation which is always a good sign.

Friday O’Kelley and I slept late (she spent her last night as a single woman with me at La Mansion Hotel) then joined her sorority sisters for some brunch. I left them to get my make up done (this turned out terrible and I looked pretty um, “fast”, so I ran back to the hotel and toned down my make up before running back and forth between the Watermark Hotel and La Mansion (they are across from each other along the River Walk) getting jewelry and such from O’Kelley’s friends, and dropping off O’Kelley’s bags at the Honeymoon Suite.

Finally 5:30 came and I found myself dressing my sister and getting ready for the wedding. We took pictures before the wedding and she and her closest friends enjoyed a glass of champagne before the ceremony. I was nervous because we didn’t have a rehearsal so Pastor reviewed the procession really quickly as they were playing the opening music. Luckily I made it down the uneaven stone path without twisting my ankle.

The ceremony was nice and short…and it was on to the party. I spent most of my night dodging questions about my own love life and having to listen to friends and family who “know the most amazing guy” (my favorite was the 40 year old missionary doctor who lives in Africa…I’m 24…”but he’s young at heart!” cried my mom’s friend). 

After hours of dancing and chit chat OKelley and Paul headed off in a cab and we helped the caterers shut down the party. I finally got to bed around 2am.

Saturday was lazy. I woke up and went to the River Walk for lunch with a college friend and her husband. I then went to the Market and bought a few traditional Mexican dresses, returned to my room and dressed for the final fiesta!

In one of my new colorful embroidered dresses I arrived at the final party of the weekend. We had a mariachi band and fajitas. It was great to hang out with my cousins and discuss Middle East politics along with some silly girly chit chat.

And so concluded the long wedding weekend. My sister and her husband left for Martha’s Vineyard today and I am back home in Austin.

I am so happy for my sister. It was such a wonderful experience to see her marry the man she loves so much. They are so amazing together and hilarious to be around. I grew up with two sisters so i’m glad that I finally have a brother. Even if he’s ten years older :).

Peace and blessings.


Leave a comment

Categories